I was thinking about this song a couple of days ago . It is possibly one of my favourite songs of all-time (Taylor Hicks can go suck on a lemon for his cover of it, though) but I started wondering about if it was based on a true story. After much deliberation (about 3 minutes standing in the cold waiting for my lift home), I came to the conclusion “Does it really matter?” What if it wasn’t based on a true story? Does that mean I should just not pay attention to the meaning behind the song? Of course not. If you’re the type of person who wouldn’t help someone just because a song made up a story, then you have some deeper issues you should see a psychiatrist about. Either that or you’re Charlie Sheen. And if you’re Charlie Sheen, then you have some deeper issues you should see a psychiatrist about.

Now, I realise this is kind of a trivial matter. It’s just a song, right? But I have always been a fan of the “Take a principle that applies to something tiny and apply it to something exponentially more important” principle. And that lead me from a song to this:

 (http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/2/29/The.Matrix.glmatrix.3.png)

So what is the principle I’m talking about and how does it relate to the matrix? The principle is something doesn’t have to be true, or exist, to be significant. This fact of human existence is something I’d be willing to bet my 30+ years of medical experience on. One example of this is any fictional media. You just have to watch an episode of Mythbusters to see films are rarely based in any sort of truth, scientific or otherwise. Just because the films are complete fantasy, however, doesn’t mean they can’t teach us anything. And what about dreams? Dreams are the complete opposite to reality yet they can lead to many strange things of significance in the real world. Here’s a few examples:

Otto Loewi, in 1903, came up with a theory that nerves worked on a chemical system, not an electrical one as was believed at the time. 17 years later, he had an odd experiene

“The night before Easter Sunday of that year I awoke, turned on the light, and jotted down a few notes on a tiny slip of paper. Then I fell asleep again. It occurred to me at 6 o’clock in the morning that during the night I had written down something most important, but I was unable to decipher the scrawl. The next night, at 3 o’clock, the idea returned. It was the design of an experiment to determine whether or not the hypothesis of chemical transmission that I had uttered 17 years ago was correct. I got up immediately, went to the laboratory, and performed a single experiment on a frog’s heart according to the nocturnal design.”

This dream he had eventually lead to him receiving a Nobel peace prize.

Elias Howe, in 1845, first had the idea for a sewing machine but couldn’t figure out how to get the needle to work. One night, he had a dream he was being chased by some native Americans with spears. When he woke up, he realised the spears all had holes near the tips of them. He decided to incorporate that idea into his sewing needles and thus the sewing machine was invented.

Robert Louis Stevenson claimed to dream of “little people” who would tell him stories which he would then write down the next day. It was in one such dream he had the idea for Jekyll and Hyde.

But now onto the fun part. How does this relate to the Matrix?

The Matrix, in case you’re one of the 3 people in the world who don’t know about it, is all about how the world we live in isn’t really our world. It say we created robots who eventually revolted, there was a giant war, which we lost, and now they are harvesting our energy while forcing us to live out our life in this horrible world we call earth.

They make it sound so bad.

(http://www.energyenhancement.org/Egg-Granite-Matrix.jpg)

Of course, this picture makes perfect sense as to why we should fight back. Look at what they are doing to us! They are torturing us! Making us live somewhere foul creatures like THIS exist:

(http://www.doomsday.no/esn/wp-content/uploads/2010/10/cute-puppy-pictures-sorry-eyes1.jpg)

Oh yeah, that’s right, this world’s pretty awesome. I guess what I’m trying to say is: If we are all controlled by robots feeding off our brain, and this world isn’t real, or I am in some sort of Truman show type situation and everyone is a robot except me, does it really matter? Is life any less significant? Does it make what happens matter any less? I don’t think so. But don’t take my word for it, maybe you’re the only person who is real and I’m part of the system, trying to keep you controlled.

So what have you learned from reading this blog post?

  1. I don’t like Taylor Hicks;
  2. I may be paranoid;
  3. Morpheus should have just let Neo stay in the Matrix.

Thanks for reading!

